a baby story

*I didn’t think would end up sooooo long but, oh well! Skip to the pics at the bottom if you get bored! 😉

Going back to the morning of November 7th, 2012 I would have told you that I thought I was going to be pregnant for at least another week if not longer! Although I tried my hardest throughout my entire pregnancy to keep the whole “she’ll come when she is ready” mindset (and for the most part I think I did a pretty good job), I’m not going to lie when I say that I was pretty ready at that point to hold our baby girl in my arms!

I had a doctor’s appointment Wednesday November 7th (my due date) around 4 that afternoon and wasn’t too surprised when my doctor told us that I still wasn’t dilated over a 1 and went on to schedule an induction date of November 14th. He was going to be out of town that weekend so it all kind of work out and I became okay with possibility of maybe being pregnant for one more week. He stripped my membranes in hopes of starting something and after doing so he made it sound like I may not make it to the following week after all. Sure enough, the contractions started as I was driving home from the appointment. I didn’t want too think much of it or get my hopes too high so instead of sitting at home I suggested to Chase that we go walk around Arizona Mills for a while and get something to eat!

We had lots of fun just walking, shopping, walking some more, eating some wetzel pretzel bites with jalepeno cheese dip (a frequent craving of mine throughout my whole pregnancy), walking a bit more and just enjoying what we didn’t know at the time would be the last night of just the two of us. No joke, if you know AZ Mills you know how big that place is and we walked 4 laps around the entire mall! Haha I wasn’t about to stop! The contractions kept coming and were consistent too!

We got home and spent the rest of the night just relaxing and watching movies and me secretly hoping to that the contractions would stay through the night. After reading birth story after birth story I was sure I would have to be dying in agonizing pain before I would be admitted to the hospital and at this point, I could definitely feel the contractions and although they were uncomfortable, they were bearable, so we stayed put at home and decided to go to bed. I woke up multiple times that night (nothing unusual there) and the contractions were still there but about the same on the pain scale.

The next morning, the contractions were still steady and lasting longer so we waited until around 10:30 when we decided we’d shower, pack some last minutes things and head to the hospital (after a stop at Einstein Bagels of course-since I knew I probably wouldn’t be eating anything for a while).

We got to the hospital around 12:30 and sure enough I was dilated to a 3! But in order to make sure that I was actually making progress they had us wait for about an hour, came and checked me again and much to our my dismay not much had changed and they said they may have to send me home. At this point, I was in pain and DID NOT want to have to go home! They said we should walk around for a bit then they would check again and make a decision.

I never imagined I would be one of those ginormous pregnant woman waddling around the maternity ward at the hospital, in a super attractive hospital gown, in enormous amount of pain trying to get things going but sure enough there I was! Chase was wonderful (as always) as we walked lap after lap around the very small area we were allowed to walk around. Being very pessimistic at the time I was sure we’d be going home and Chase kept reassuring me everything would be fine and that he thought we would be staying.

After walking for about an hour (haha we weren’t about to go home because at this point I could hardly walk!) they checked again and said that I did in fact make progress and that we’d be staying! Hallelujah. And from here on out everything (at least to me) flew by! I even had to ask Chase to recap the rest of the afternoon/night because to me it was all just a blur of events that all happened SO quickly! Pretty crazy.

So here a timeline of events with a few details here and there!

2:30 we were told we got to stay!

3:00 officially checked in and in our room. Awesome feeling. Enough said.

3:30 epidural was in. I was surprised at how fast this happened! It was a little painful but not nearly as bad as I thought it was going to be. PS- epidurals are amazing. It helped ease the pain but I was still able to feel each contraction. Plus it started to wear off just in time to push which put me in complete control. It really was a great experience.

5:30 the doctor came in and broke my water. This was the first time I actually saw my doctor that delivered Hadley. He was super friendly and nice and I wasn’t worried at all about having a different doctor deliver.

The next couple hours consisted of chilling in bed, watching the contractions on the monitor go up and down quite frequently, visiting with everyone that came by, sending out texts to update our families, watching (but not really watching) a couple shows/movies, having a peanut ball between my legs and trying (keyword trying) to sleep but with not much success because, to be honest, I wasn’t too tired!

10:30 I was dilated to a 9 and they started to prep me for birth! Everything went really smoothly. I did a couple practices pushes before the doctor got there and we even ended up having to wait for him to get there! (She was that ready to come out!) It was at this point that Chase told me that our baby girl had hair (we thought for sure she’d be bald) and that I got to feel her head. Talk about an indescribable experience! I nearly started to cry.

11:00 (give or take a few minutes) I started pushing. A huge thank you to my sister Katie and Chase who stood on either side of me and held my hands telling me I got this throughout the whole experience. I could not have done this without them and the others in my room who supported me through the whole birth. As I was pushing I just kept telling myself the more I focus now and do the best I can, the quicker it will be done and the sooner our girl will be here! My mindset obviously worked because at…

11:21 Hadley Jo came into our world and changed our lives (for better!) forever, with the sweetest disposition, wide-eyed and beautiful! I got to hold her right away and I’ll never forget that moment. She hardly cried and was busy looking around taking in the world with her adorable, dark eyes. Apart from me shaking and having a pretty high fever (both stopped and went down in not too much time) everything was perfect! My mom, Chase’s mom and my sisters Katie, Jenna and Staci were all in the room when she was born and I was so happy they were!

2:30 am we made it to our recovery room, still not too tired and happy! Well I’m sure we were tired but it just hadn’t kicked in yet! Chase went to the cafeteria and got me some mozzarella sticks that were extra delicious to me for some reason and after a few more moments of snuggling our baby girl, we all fell asleep. We felt so blessed.

I’ll never forget waking up the next morning and even though we were never actually outside I could tell it was going to be a gorgeous day. We watched the sunrise through our window and everything felt so calm and peaceful. I know that sounds cheesy but I really will never forget it.

And that is the story of how this…

became this…

and our family of two became a family of three!

Leave a Reply

